How do I reactivate an expired read-only Turnitin class?

Answer

When the first Turnitin assignment is created in a new Blackboard course, a corresponding Turnitin class is created for the course. The Turnitin class is set to have a default end date that is six months from the creation date of the class (i.e., the date on which the first assignment was created in the course) or on the day of the latest post-date for any Turnitin assignments in that class, whichever is the latest. Once this end date is reached the class expires, and when the Turnitin class expires all the Turnitin submissions in the Blackboard course become read-only.

You will know if your Turnitin class has expired, as the following message will be displayed when you access any of the papers submitted to any of the Turnitin assignments in your Blackboard course:

 

Because Turnitin classes can expire after six months, it is possible to find that your Turnitin class has expired in your current Blackboard course. However, this is not a problem unless changes need to be made to the grades and feedback that have already been given to the papers submitted to an expired class.

While you cannot change any grades or feedback if your Turnitin class has expired, you can still: 

  • open submitted papers and view any grades and feedback previously entered;
  • download papers;
  • set up new Turnitin submission points.

And while students cannot submit assignments to Turnitin submission points in expired classes, they can still:

  • view previously submitted papers, including grades and feedback;
  • download previously submitted papers.

Reactivating an expired Turnitin class

Even though a Turnitin class has expired, this will not prevent you from setting up a new Turnitin assignment in a Blackboard course, because setting up a new Turnitin assignment automatically reactivates an expired Turnitin class. And because all of the Turnitin assignments in a Blackboard course share the same Turnitin class, once the class is reactivated all the Turnitin assignments in the Blackboard course will be taken out of read only mode.

• Ultra courses

In Blackboard Ultra courses, the only way to reactivate an expired Turnitin class is to set up a new Turnitin assignment and then to access the assignment inbox for the new Turnitin assignment. Once this has been done, the Turnitin class will be reactivated and all the Turnitin assignments in the course will no longer be in read only mode.

If the only reason to create the new Turnitin assignment is to reactivate the Turnitin class, then the new Turnitin assignment can be hidden from students.

• Original courses

In Blackboard Original courses, if you have an expired Turnitin class you will see the following message in any assignments that were set up using the Turnitin Basic integration:

Where this is the case, to reactivate the Turnitin class simply go to the 'Edit assignment' tab, and (without making any changes) press 'Submit'.

If, in your Blackboard Original course, you only have Turnitin assignments that were set up using the Turnitin LTI integration, the only way to reactivate the expired Turnitin class is to set up a new Turnitin assignment and then to access the assignment inbox for the new Turnitin assignment. Once this has been done, the Turnitin class will be reactivated and all the Turnitin assignments in the course will no longer be in read only mode.

If the only reason to create the new Turnitin assignment is to reactivate the Turnitin class, then the new Turnitin assignment can be made unavailable to students.

Topics

  • Last Updated Mar 11, 2022
  • Views 30
  • Answered By Robert Farmer

FAQ Actions

Was this helpful? 0 0