Is it safe to message multiple students in Ultra courses in NILE?

Answer

It is important to be careful when messaging multiple students in Ultra courses in NILE, as students to whom the message is sent can see the names, but not the email addresses, of all the other students that the message was sent to.

While this can be useful in some circumstances, information that needs to remain private should not be sent via a message to multiple students. For example, where students are being contacted about the non-submission or failure of assessments, each student should be sent an individual message, otherwise all of the students who get the message will know who else in the course did not submit or failed their assessment.

The way that the Messages tool in Ultra courses works is as follows:

• If you message a student individually in an Ultra course the message is private, and only that student can see the message.

• If you message multiple students in an Ultra course, everybody can see the names (but not the email addresses) of who else got the message.

• If you message everyone in the course, everyone in the course will get the message and can see that it was sent to everyone in the course. The message will not disclose the names or the email addresses of everyone in the course, it will simply state that the message was sent to everyone in the course.


Example 1: Messaging an individual student

In the following example, the message is being sent only to Tasha Yar, and only Tasha will receive the message and be able to see it in the Ultra course. Because 'Send an email copy to recipients' is selected, Tasha will also receive an email containing the message.


Example 2: Messaging multiple students

In the next example, three students, William, Geordi, and Tasha, have been selected to receive the message, and will also get the message by email, as 'Send an email copy to recipients' has been selected. In the Ultra course, each of the students to whom the message was sent will be able to see the names, but not the email addresses, of the other students who got the message. The emailed version of the message that is sent to each student will not disclose the names or email addresses of the other students to whom it was sent.


Example 3: Messaging all course members

In the final example, the message is being sent (and emailed) to everyone in the course, and in the Ultra course everyone will be able to see that the message was sent to everyone in the course. The message in the Ultra course will not disclose the names or the email addresses of everyone in the course, it will simply state that the message was sent to everyone in the course. The emailed copy of the message will not disclose the fact that it was sent to everyone in the course, nor will it disclose the names or email addresses of any of the other students.


More information

You can find out more about communicating with students via Messages and Announcements in Ultra courses at the following locations:

Messages: https://help.blackboard.com/Learn/Instructor/Ultra/Interact/Messages

Announcements: https://help.blackboard.com/Learn/Instructor/Ultra/Interact/Announcements

  • Last Updated Mar 24, 2022
  • Views 97
  • Answered By Robert Farmer

FAQ Actions

Was this helpful? 2 0